Bay of Plenty

Home » MTFJ Members » Bay of Plenty

Bay of Plenty Region

The Bay of Plenty region is located on the north western coast of the North Island of New Zealand. The region has a temperature, maritime climate with warm, humid summers and mild winters. It is one of New Zealand's warmest regions, particularly along the coastline. 

The region's economy largely consists of the Fishing, Horticulture, Forestry and Tourism.

The region consists of six Territorial Authorities; Western Bay of Plenty District, Tauranga City, Rotorua Lakes District, Whakatane District, Opotiki District and the Kawerau District.

NZ silhouette

Council maps

The maps below outline the boundaries for all regional, district and city councils in New Zealand.

North Island map South Island map