Industry Training Graduations

Industry Training Graduations are all about recognising achievements and creating opportunities to celebrate the success of industry trainees and modern apprentices.

MTFJ has a goal to elevate the status of trades and service careers. These careers are accessible to young people and provide an 'earn-and'learn' pathway. Trade careers are of particular interest as New Zealand currently has a shortage of tradespeople and a boom in several associated industries.

MTFJ runs Industry Training Graduations to recognise the achievements of recent graduates and provide an opportunity for the trainees and apprentices to celebrate with their families, friends and employers.

Graduation ceremonies are attended by graduates who have recently completed a National Certificate qualification with an Industry Training Organisation (ITO), the local Mayor and Councillors, and the ITOs themselves.

The graduations are a time for celebration as well as thanks to local employers for their ongoing commitment to youth and training.

As of 2020, MTFJ Industry Training Graduations will place in two "runs" - a May run and a November run. 

Most graduations take place in November.  

In 2019, 25 Councils either hosted or co-hosted an Industry Training Graduation.

Please check here regularly for MTFJ Industry Training Graduation updates. 

Each Council has different criteria to be eligible to graduate, so get in touch with MTFJ if you are unsure.

Invitations will follow to those eligible in the weeks before each ceremony - if you think you have missed out then let us know!

If you have any questions relating to ITO graduations please get in touch with MTFJ Taskforce Coordinator Noa Woolloff


  Council  Date  Venue 
  Timaru District Council and Waimate District Council (joint)  12/11/2020 TBC
  Palmerston North City Council  14/12/2020 Regent on Broadway. 53 Broadway Ave
  Kawerau District Council, Ōpōtiki District Council and Whakatāne District Council (joint)  5/11/2020 TBC
  Marlborough District Council  29/10/2020   ASB Theatre 
  Waitomo District Council and Ōtorohanga District Council (joint ceremony) 19/11/2020  Les Munro Centre in Te Kuiti 
  Waitaki District Council  16/11/2020 Oamaru Opera House 
  Buller District Council  November  TBC
  Central Hawke's Bay District Council  10/12/2020 CHBDC Theatre 
  Stratford District Council  5/11/2020 Council Chambers 
  Hauraki District Council and Thames Coromandel District Council  17/11/2020 Ngatea War Memorial Hall
  Gisborne District Council  4/11/2020 TBC
  Hastings District Council and Napier City Council  November TBC
  Nelson City Council and Tasman District Council  5/11/2020 TBC 
  Rangitikei District Council  13/11/2020 Te Poho Tuariki
  Ashburton District Council  November   
  South Wairarapa District Council, Carterton District Council and Masterton District Council  November  TBC 
  Christchurch City Council, Hurunui District Council, Waimakariri District Council and Selwyn District Council  November  TBC